Confession

I confess. I’m a worrier. I worry about what I think and what people think and about what people think I think.

Recently I have been struggling through a problem that lends itself quite aggressively to worry. And it is very difficult to resist.

Worry just seems like the responsible thing to do.

So here’s my attack plan. I have asked my Counselor and Guide for approval and direction and have done all I could to deal appropriately with the issue.

God does not want me worrying, but I am still tempted to. I also know that though I walk in the flesh I do not war against the flesh (II Corinthians 10:3-5). So telling myself not to worry just makes it worse.

Jesus spoke (and continues to speak) to us. But He also spoke to situations and problems and directly to the enemy of our souls. So instead of talking to myself about my weakness for worry, I talk to the ‘worry’ itself.

Yeah, I know what you’re thinking…but bear with me. I’m in the middle of this and I am already seeing results. First of all some of the areas at which I was directing my worry never happened or the consequences were much less. Others of course were exactly what I expected. But in general…so far…things are not nearly as bad as they could have been.

But here’s the real perk…I have been at peace through the whole process.

Well, other that the times where I had to address the ‘worry’ and remind it that Jesus now owned the care of that situation because I had cast it onto Him (I Peter 5:7).

That result is guaranteed and real and immediate. And I’m learning a lot about ‘trust’ in the process.

Ok…enough confession…I wanted you to know I wasn’t just ‘preaching’.

I’ll update this in a few days and let you know if what I’m saying actually works. And I hope that doesn’t bring the bar of Scripture down too low for you. You see, I don’t want to be just inspired and encouraged by the Word of God. I expect it to do what it says. If it’s all just spiritual and emotional help then I’ll surely take it. But then why all the specifics about how to use its power against the enemy? I definitely expect it to work.

Tomorrow…What about those uninvited problems that I didn’t get to discuss with God before they arrived?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment